Ontario Food Terminal Board Members and Management Staff

The Ontario Food Terminal Board consists of seven members, appointed by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, upon recommendation of the Ontario Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs.

The Present Board Members are:


Christy McMullen is the Vice President of Summerhill Market. Her community involvement includes being a board member of the Vineland Research and Innovation Centre and the former Chair for the Canadian Federation of Independent Grocers.


Larry Kieswetter is a former Senior Director of Produce with Burnac Produce Limited and with Loblaws. His community involvement includes serving as Chairperson and director with Laurel Church Centre and as a team member for outreach to the South Sudan with Christian Network Ministries. Mr. Kieswetter is also a conference speaker relating to fresh produce.


Ian MacKenzie received his B.Sc. (Agr.) degree at the University of Guelph majoring in horticultural science, and shortly after, started his career with Agriculture Canada in fresh fruit and vegetable inspection, licensing and arbitration programs. Ian was secretary to Canada's Board of Arbitration for seven years - a federal mediation and arbitration program for shippers and receivers of fresh fruits and vegetables. In 1994, he left the government to help build and refocus the Ontario Produce Marketing Association. In 1998, he joined the Ontario Apple Marketing Commission as their General Manager and continued there until its closure in 2001. He then returned to the Ontario Produce Marketing Association, before being seconded in January 2005 to the Fresh Produce Alliance (Toronto) to manage four projects on behalf of the Canadian Produce Marketing Association, the Canadian Horticulture Council and the Dispute Resolution Corporation related to fair and ethical trade practices for the produce industry. In April 2009, Mr, MacKenzie returned to the Ontario Produce Marketing Association where he continued to build the association until his retirement at the end of 2015.


John Den Boer is President of Den Boer Family Inc., President of the Toronto Farmers’ Association and is currently a member of the OFTB COVID-19 Crisis Response Team.  Mr. Den Boer grew up on a vegetable farm in the Netherlands and worked in the produce and grocery industries there before moving to Canada with his family in 1992. The family farm near Tillsonburg, now managed by his son and daughter-in-law, produces a wide range of vegetables that are primarily sold at the Terminal.


STEVE BAMFORD is a Chief Executive Officer for Fresh Advancements, and President of Bay Growers, and a former President of Freshline Foods Inc.


LEN TURKEVICS is currently Principal at Turkevics & Associates. Former employment includes roles as serving as a Senior Policy Advisor with the Ministry of Agriculture, Food & Rural Affairs and as a Researcher for the PC Caucus at the Legislative Assembly. Mr. Turkevics holds a Bachelor of Arts from University of Toronto.



I.B. Nicholas - General Manager, Secretary Treasurer

G. Leo - Administration Manager

G. Da Silva - Operations Manager